Facsimile Cahier D’Art
2017, Facsimile publication. With inserts: Photographs of Marco's carriage in Recife, translation of "L’habitude des Tropiques" from Paul Éluard by Tassiana & Mirta Nuñez Costa.
25,5 x 32 cm (closed), screen print on cover, riso print inside, print run 90.

The magazine Cahiers D'Art 1-2, 1936, is dedicated to the surrealists. In that they manifest their revolutionary view on the object. The cover was designed by Marcel Duchamp, a collage and screen print named Coeur Volants or Flattering Hearts.

Into the facsimile I inserted new images of Marco's carriage, a recycling collector which circulates in the center from Recife. He attracts attention with his decorated carriage of found objects. The sight of it remembered me of the surrealists and of their relation to the object.
Furthermore there has been added a translation of the poetic text L’habitude des Tropiques by Paul Éluard from French to Portuguese. My intention was it to connect the magazine to the tropic life in Recife and Brazil.

http://www.silvankalin.ch/en/files/gimgs/th-26_facsimile_mongrafproducao_web.jpg
http://www.silvankalin.ch/en/files/gimgs/th-26_IMG_20170710_213718253_web.jpg
http://www.silvankalin.ch/en/files/gimgs/th-26_facsimile_cahierdart.jpg

Facsimile Cahier D’Art
2017, Faksimile Publikation. Mit Zusatz: Fotografien von Marco's Wagen in Recife, Übersetzung von "L’habitude des Tropiques" von Paul Éluard durch Tassiana & Mirta Nuñez Costa.
25,5x32cm (geschlossen), Siebdruck auf Umschlag, Kern gedruckt mit Riso. Auflage 90.

Die Zeitschrift Cahiers D’Art 1-2, 1936, ist den Surrealisten gewidmet. Diese manifestieren darin eine neue revolutionäre Sicht auf das Objekt. Der Umschlag wurde von Marcel Duchamp gestaltet, eine Collage als Siebdruck namens Coeurs Volants.

Im Faksimile habe ich neue Bilder eingeschoben, von Marcos Wagen, dem Recycling-Sammler der im Zentrum von Recife zirkuliert. Er fällt auf, weil er seinen Wagen besonders mit gefundenen Objekten schmückt. Dieser Anblick erinnerte mich an die Surrealisten und ihre Beziehung zum Objekt.
Ausserdem wurde der poetische Text „L’habitude des Tropiques“ von Paul Éluard vom Französischen ins Portugiesische übersetzt, wodurch ich die Zeitschrift mit dem tropischen Leben in Recife und Brasilien zu verknüpfen beabsichtigte.

Druckgrafik, Coeurs Volants

http://www.silvankalin.ch/de/files/gimgs/th-32_facsimile_mongrafproducao_web.jpg
http://www.silvankalin.ch/de/files/gimgs/th-32_IMG_20170710_213718253_web.jpg
http://www.silvankalin.ch/de/files/gimgs/th-32_R0032245web2.jpg